Skip to content

My Reading List

July 4, 2012

My aunt (left) & friend, circa  1959

I am really good at starting books but not good at  finishing them.  I hope making this list will keep me accountable and help me to stay on course.

Daily

One Year Bible (I follow the one year reading plan but read the passages in my own Bible.  I just pencil in the dates in the margins)

Daily Light (Have been reading this one for years and absolutely love it)

My Utmost for His Highest 

July

Absolute Surrender (I read it in Bible College 17 years ago, and it was life changing. Just reading the first few pages this morning has been convicting and encouraging at the same time. It definitely causes me to look soberly at my life and ponder my walk with the Lord)

The Secret Life of Bees

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society 

Teaching the Trivium: Christian Homeschooling in a Classical Style (Still trying to decide where I stand regarding Classical approach to education and what exactly classical education is)

The Core (I read it last summer, I am not going to read it from cover to cover,  just look over it to help us decide if Classical Conversations is for our family)

August

The Mission of Motherhood

The Cost of Discipleship

The Pursuit of God (another reread but I need it)

September

God’s Pursuit of Man (I bought it 3 years ago and as much as I love Tozer’s books, I am yet to read it)

War and Peace Volumes 1 & 2 (Back in January while visiting my hometown I realized that I need to reread some of the Russian classics that I once was so familiar with.  I felt like a foreigner among my people because I couldn’t remember the characters, the story lines, the poems that I once knew.  I couldn’t read between the lines because of my “illiteracy”.  I told my mom that this was the year I would start rereading Russian classics.  Several months have passed and I haven’t read one book yet!  I hope making a plan and writing down the titles will help me achieve this goal)

October

War and Peace Volumes 3 & 4

A Present Help

Continuous Revival

November

How to raise your children for Christ

The Idiot

December

The Idiot (Dostoyevsky has always been a difficult author for me to read, so I am allowing myself 2 months to finish the book)

I am linking up my list to Sarah Mae’s 2012 reading list.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2012 6:29 am

    I am reading The Core this month too! We decided to do Classical Conversations this year, mainly because we are new in town and would like to get plugged in with a home school community. Thanks for sharing!

    • the urquharts permalink*
      July 4, 2012 9:56 am

      Thanks for visiting! Being new in town is one of the reasons we are looking at CC as well.

    • July 4, 2012 4:07 pm

      We love CC! We were involved last year, but this is our first “official” year homeschooling. My older girl is starting K. I want to re-read The Core.

  2. July 10, 2012 10:09 pm

    Believe it or not, I haven’t read the idiot yet. I think I skipped that one at school. Should definitely give it try. Let me know what you think about it!
    What is the Core? I hear people talk about it.

    • the urquharts permalink*
      July 10, 2012 10:15 pm

      The Core is written by Leigh Bortins, the founder of Classical Conversations. She shares her approach to education as well as practical suggestions on how to teach children. I will lend you my copy if you would like to read it.

Leave a Reply

